ODS 2017 Sanjaya Lall Prize awarded to Jan Priebe, Rajesh Venugopal and Sameer Yasir

14 March, 2018

We are delighted to announce the winners of the Oxford Development Studies Sanjaya Lall Prize for 2017.

This year's prize was shared between two articles. Jan Priebe of the University of Gottingen, Germany, won for his article 'Political reservation and female empowerment: evidence from Maharashtra, India', ODS 45 (4): 499-521, and Rajesh Venugopal of LSE, UK, and Sameer Yasir of the Islamic University of Science and Technology, Awantipora, India, won for their article 'The politics of natural disasters in protracted conflict: the 2014 flood in Kashmir', ODS 45 (4): 424-42.

Both articles are currently free to access on the ODS site.

The prizes are awarded in honour of the late Sanjaya Lall, formerly Professor of Economics at the University of Oxford and Managing Editor of the journal.

Congratulations to the winners!