Congratulating our MSc student prize winners for 2021

02 September, 2021

We are delighted to announce that the following students have won prizes for their performance on our masters' courses in 2020/2021.

MSc in Economics for Development

George Webb Medley Prize for Best Overall Performance 

Yihong Zhang, St John's

George Webb Medley Prize for Best Overall Performance (proxime accessit

Merlin Stein, Wolfson

Luca D’Agliano Prize for Best Dissertation 

Nelli Vanninen, St Antony’s

Arthur Lewis Prize for the Best Examination Essays in Development Economics

Merlin Stein, Wolfson, and Marco Malusà, St Edmund Hall (joint winners)

MSc in Global Governance and Diplomacy

Outstanding Academic Achievement 

Katherine McCreery, St Cross, and Benjamin Bushell, St Antony’s (joint winners)

Best Dissertation 

Benjamin Bushell, St Antony’s

MSc in Migration Studies

Examiners’ Prize

Tiger Hills, St Catherine’s

Best Dissertation Prize

Catriona Fraser, Kellogg

Dissertation Prize (runner up)

Nicholas Lancaster, St Antony’s, and Isabelle Monnickendam, Regent’s Park (joint winners)

MSc in Refugee and Forced Migration Studies

Best Thesis Prize

Jake Millman, Wolfson

Gil Loescher Prize for Overall Best Performance

Olivia Wicki, St Antony’s, and Henry Wilson-Smith, Lady Margaret Hall (joint winners)

Note: the previously named ‘Examiners Prize’ has been renamed this year in memory of Professor Gil Loescher who sadly died last year. 

An obituary to him by Professor Alexander Betts can be read here:

Find out more about our courses here